STAGE 7 (Medical Checkup)

This is the stage I fear most. I have medical conditions, and I declared it. It even asks for PES status, which the doctor will probe into during the consultation.

I went down early, at about 940am.

This round consisted of blood tests (Full Blood Count and Hemoglobin Level), eye test, chest x-ray, and the consultation. After that, the doctor will either recommend you FIT FOR FLYING, FIT FOR FLYING (with conditions), NOT FIT FOR FLYING, and another last option that I cannot remember. You fate lies in the hands of the doctor, literally.

However, you still have to wait for your blood tests results to be out. I suppose that will be a deciding factor too. I do know that candidates were not required to draw blood before, but after SQ changed its consultation company, things change (based on my theory). We might have even been the first batch to have my blood taken (again, my assumption).

In the consultation room with the doctor, you will be asked a lot of questions. You will also be asked to remove your shoes to check for flat foot. I did not know I have flat foot till now. The doctor told me, “You know working as a flight attendant have to stand for long hours right? I’m sorry but I have to declare.” I swear this made me cry a little inside; now that I know my chances are slimmer. I have never felt any pain, strain or whatsoever on my feet before. Therefore, if this is a factor, I am hoping either the doctor or SQ will call me back for clarification. The doctor had to declare in the papers that will be given back to SQ for vetting, where your fate ultimately lies in the hands of SQ. The blood test results should be out in 2 – 3 days time, and all your reports will be mailed back to SQ.

You will also be checked for hernia (for guys only, I THINK), but it confuses me as to how this will affect your job as a flight attendant.

How do I feel about the medical checkup? I really am not sure of it myself too, but I have friends who are stewards and stewardess with SQ and they didn’t require to draw blood before. Alas, theirs were of a different group of medical. I really feel unlucky to have my blood drawn, as they might come out with unexpected results that might hinder my chances.

I’m not sure what tips to give you readers for this round… I’m worried about it myself too…

All the best to me please!!

STAGE 7 (Medical Checkup)

Leave a comment